Mamit DEF

I. Brief History of the Unit:

The entire areas of Mamit District earlier been a Civil Sub-Division of undivided Aizawl District has become a full fledged District on 11th March, 1998 vide order No. A.6001/21/95-GAD and consequently Pu L.T. Hrangchal MPS the first SP of Mamit District started his office on 27.4.1998.

The district covers an area of 3025.75 sq. kms. of land. It has got about 50 kms of International boundary with Bangladesh and about 70 kms and 45 kms Inter-state boundaries with Tripura and Assam respectively. The district capital Mamit is 102 kms from the State capital Aizawl. The means of communication are cars and maxi caps. 

II. Police Establishment:

A. SP Office: There are 8 (eight) branches under SP Mamit office under the supervision of one each of Addl. SP and Reserve Branch: This branch deals with all service matter of DEF personnel i.e. Leave, Discipline of force, transfer and posting, accommodation and other important correspondence of the District.

Account Branch : This branch deals service matter of ministerial staff, pension papers, pay and allowances of DEF personnel, other correspondences and TA/DA etc.

Crime Branch: This branch deals with all the matter relating to crime within District.

MT Branch: This branch deals with motor transport and mobility of the district.

Confidential BranchThis Branch is look after by one Grade III Stenographer and 3 (three) constables. It deals all confidential matters and assists SP in his day to day functioning etc.

District Police  Store: This Branch deals with clothing items of DEF and other departmental store.

Prosecution Branch: This Branch is established in 12th.April.2011 which deals with all Police cases for submission to Magistrate, Mamit for prosecution of the case.  This branch is situated at District Court, Mamit.

Traffic Branch: This Branch is established since 15th.Feb.2011 which deals with all the traffic related matters within Mamit towns. 


Mamit Sub-Division: The Sub-Division looks after Mamit Police Station. Mamit PS was established in the year 10th March,1972 and was under the jurisdiction of Aizawl DEF and under the supervision of SDPO Mamit Sub-Division. In the year 27th April, 2998, it was no longer under the jurisdiction of Aizawl DEF and began to function under Mamit DEF with the supervision of Superintendent of Police, Mamit District, Mamit.  

Kawrthah Sub-Division :   The Sub-Division looks after the following Police Station and Out Post.

(a) Kawrthah Police Station : Kawrthah Police Station was opened in the year 1974 on 10th.March. The first Officer-in-Charge of this PS was SI Sanghnuna Royte. 

 (b) Kanhmun Police Station : Kanhmun Police Station is located at the Mizoram-Tripura State border. It was opened in the year 1986 on 20th February.  Initially PWD complex with the building was occupied for Police Station. In the year 1990, Assam Type Building was constructed for police and it was occupied in the same year. In the year 2008, the said PS Assam Type Building was dismantled and a new RCC two storey building was constructed under Police Modernization Scheme which was completed in the same year and thus occupied on dt. 9.5.2009. The first Officer-in-Charge of this PS was SI KB Deka (20.2.1986 – 18.1.1987). 

(c) Zawlnuam Out Post : Zawlnuam Out Post was opened in the year 1980 on 1st.January.  Initially one Assam Type PWD Building was occupied for the Police Out Post which was now dismantled. In 2001, the presently occupied building as the out post building was constructed in the present new location. The first Officer-in-Charge of this Out Post was ASI PL Hmingthanga.

West Phaileng Sub-Division: SDPO West Phaileng was carved out from SDPO Mamit. SDPO West Phaileng office is located at a distance of 43 kms south from Headquarters Mamit. At present the office is attached inside the PS building on the adjacent side of the OC’s room.  There are two Police Stations under this Sub-Division.

(a) West Phaileng Police Station: West Phaileng Out Post was under induction w.e.f. 8.7.1988 with the first I/C KC Ruata (L). The Out Post was upgraded to Police Station on 1.10.1992 under the first OC SI R.F. Zauva. Initially one private building was occupied as Out Post building and later some Police quarters were constructed at Bethlehem Veng, West Phaileng. Hence, the Out Post was shifted at one of the building at Bethlehem Veng, West Phaileng. The present PS building was occupied in the first quarter of 2008 when the construction under Police Department was completed. 

(b) Marpara Police Station: Located at Mizoram-Bangladesh border, 120 kms away from Mamit. It was established on 26.2.1974.

III. List of Police Stations/Outposts:

1 MAMIT PS 0389-2565100 / 2565222
2 KAWRTHAH PS 8787683770/ 9612628800
3 KANHMUN PS 9862457999
4 ZAWLNUAM OP 9862561949
5 WEST PHAILENG PS 8413835827
6 MARPARA PS 8787486771