Siaha DEF


Siaha DEF started functioning as Office of the Superintendent of Police, Chhimtuipui District, Saiha on 1.4.1973. Chhimtuipui DEF included the present Lawngtlai DEF. This unit was initially headed by Pu C. Khenglawt, APS, Dy. SP (Hqrs) as officiating SP from Lunglei District while the first SP was Pu SK Singh, IPS who was posted from 5.9.1974 to 2.12.1976.

Consequent upon the bifurcation of Chhimtuipui District into Saiha District and Lawngtlai District on 13.10.1998, Chhimtuipui DEF came to be known as Saiha DEF and the first SP, Saiha was Pu C. Vanlalvena, MPS.

However, on approval of Official Resolution passed by the MADC in its Session on 31st July’ 2013 by Governor of Mizoram, the existing names of towns, villages, lake and rivers within Mara Autonomous District are reverted back into their names from the date of issue of notification vide No. H.13012/2/2010-DCA (M) Dated 3.8.2015. As such ‘Saiha’ became ‘Siaha’ and ‘Saiha DEF’ is called as ‘Siaha DEF’.


Siaha District Police is headed by the Superintendent of Police and has three police stations, viz., Siaha, Tipa and Phura. The SP is assisted by an Additional SP, Dy. SP and SDPO.

The law & order and crime situation in the district is quite normal and Siaha is among the most peaceful districts of Mizoram. The people of Siaha are peace loving and law abiding. The NGOs also assist police in ensuring healthy crime free environment.

Siaha District is one of the eleven districts of Mizoram state in India. The district is bounded on the west and north by Lawngtlai District and on the south and east by Myanmar. Siaha town is the police administrative headquarters of the district. The majority of the district inhabitants are Mara people, who also have an autonomous district council called ‘Mara Autonomous District Council’ composed of the two R.D. Blocks of Siaha and Tipa.


  • General Branch
  • Reserve Branch and Clothing Store
  • Crime Branch
  • Prosecution Branch
  • Motor Transport Branch
  • Confidential Branch
  • District Special Branch
  • Traffic Branch
  • Police Station and Outpost
    a) Siaha Police Station
    b) Tipa Police Station
    c) Phura Police Station
    d) Lobo Outpost
    e) Kaochao Outpost
    f) Siahatla Outpost


Unit welfare is also set up under the supervision of SP and is responsible for redressal of grievances of each and every staff within the unit. Also, a sum of Rs. 50,000 is given as condolence to unit staff who died during service and Rs. 3000 to pensioner as a farewell gift.